Technology Dependency

Vertical, barcode like lines filled the screen of my iPhone 6s. Part of me felt naked and anxious, but the other part of me wasn’t devastated at all.

I checked appointments at the Apple Store’s Genius Bar, and the earliest time slot was 2:30pm the next day. I thought, “It can’t be that bad. I don’t need to go anywhere that requires GPS. I can live without SnapChat and phone calls for a day.” I am able to use my laptop for other applications like texting, email, checking social media.

I thought some more about the predicament I was in, “What was I going to use for an alarm clock?” I’ve become so dependent upon having my phone as one, that I don’t even own a regular, plug-in alarm clock radio. How was I going to wake up at 5am for work?

I don’t think it’s wrong to depend on our smartphones because it is a relatively new technology that offers accessibility to more than one need. In just one device we can access applications such as a calculator, calendar, notepad, telephone, camera, and a map. This innovation has saved time and space — maybe not money, however. Life became easier and simpler.

I used to be one of those teenagers who was glued to their phone. I created an unhealthy habit with social media and texting. It took me some time to realize my obsession and start to disconnect myself from the digital world.

I still prefer to have my phone with me (and working) so I can stay informed on news and events, research on the go via Safari, and keep my family and friends updated. Yet, I don’t mind this little detox.

Cheers

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

